Image

I don’t understand why states bordering the Gulf of Mexico

who direly need help after being battered by hurricane rains and wind

elect legislators who fight a strong central government needed to aid it

And the revenues to support it.

I don’t understand why those  suffering from drought

Who need federal funds to assist them

Want to weaken Washington and lower taxes

I don’t understand why our citizens won’t realize

That it is our wars that have caused the huge deficit,

Not our programs to help the needy and secure each citizen.

I don’t understand that Americans blessed with financial success

Do not empathize with those who are not so blessed,

And provide revenues for programs that lift those less fortunate.

Shouldn’t  we support fellow citizens in trouble?

Don’t we need a strong government, functioning for ALL of us?

I love my family and work hard to support it.

I love my country and am willing to work hard to support it

I don’t understand why those who have all the blessings

This nation has to offer

Are so  unwilling to support a larger government for our larger population

And pay their fair share.

I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND.

© Roland W. Anderson